Larslove's Blog

Funky Fuchsia & Orange Wedding Invitations

Fuchsia and orange…there couldn’t be a color combo that makes me happier than this! Lindsey and Jason’s summer wedding theme is defined by these two hot hues. The bridesmaids will be donning bright pink via the beautiful chiffon dresses that the bride selected. Orange will find its way into the mix by way of wildflowers and accent design elements. You may remember the couple’s hand-stamped and embossed save-the-dates or the wine and floral themed bridal shower we recently threw for the blushing bride. Both of those designs were subtle plays off what would become the piece de resistance, the wedding invitation itself.  I have always felt that the invitation is the defining moment in setting the tone and theme for any wedding…or event for that matter. Perhaps as a print designer, I am a bit partial. A florist may say the flowers are the mood setter, and the baker may argue that the cake is the climactic element to the entire event! Either way, it was important to me that these invitations successfully represent what is sure to be a fun and fabulous summer event. So check them out!

I brought the bride and groom three proofs. I wanted to do three VERY different designs. This is typically what I do for clients. I find that, especially with a very laid back bride like Lindsey, three different versions help pull opinions and ideas from the couple that might otherwise go un-noted or they might not even know they had! I stuck with a similar typographic design for all three proofs, that I felt was rather simple but very appropriate for a summer wedding. Then I went sort of big and bold with three different element layouts.

This first design was very modern. I adore the lace border, and there is something sort of funky yet classical about the silhouette couple.

I really hit the jackpot with the letter “H”. It makes a fantastic design element. I went with a flowy script version of it, but it looks great in a boxy typeface as well. Letters are so beautiful, and often so under appreciated as contributing design tools!

I have noticed a big design trend right now in invitation making, is the use of negative space in the top half of the piece, with the bulk of the text present in the bottom half. These flowers are made by an illustrator I found on etsy. I have pretty much bought half of her work by now! I love her style, and the way it looks hand-drawn and not computer generated. Check her out…The InkNest.

So after showing the happy couple those three versions, they discussed. The groom was really into the big “H” and the bride loved the flowers. So we compromised! The invitation displayed the gorgeous flower buds, and the “h” was incorporated into the RSVP card. I think they turned out great, and I loved that the groom was into the selection process too!

Close-up of the rsvp card.

These were printed on a white cardstock and then mounted on gliterring fuchsia and orange paper.

Definitely love them!

Now on to the programs and place-cards!
I cannot wait until the big day, it is going to be BEAUTIFUL!

xoxo

 

PS: The Mod Silhouette Couple invitation will be listed on Esty in the near future!

This entry was published on May 29, 2012 at 2:22 pm. It’s filed under Designs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Funky Fuchsia & Orange Wedding Invitations

  1. Perfect choice! Those were my two favorites also. I love the color combo!

    • Thank you so much Michelle! Yes, it was funny when I met with the couple and they were stuck between the two, it just hit us! Why not use them both!

  2. Wow, these are fantastic! You know I just did a post last week on those two colors. I sure wish you had these finished then. They would have been a perfect addition. You really do beautiful work.
    Debbie

  3. LOVE these!! You did an awesome job!!!

  4. These are all beautiful…love the color scheme!

Tell me what you think!!

