Larslove's Blog

What girl doesn’t love wine & flowers?

What is the definition of a good wine? It should start and end with a smile. -William Sokolin

This is a look at the beautiful wine & flower themed bridal shower of a good friend of mine. She is getting married this summer, and Tricia and I are both in the bridal party. I also designed her invitations and rsvp cards, and soon I will go to work on her programs and place cards.
Her maid of honor found a great spot for an intimate bridal shower. The room was a sort of wine cellar at the local country club. This went perfectly with my idea to use wine bottle flower arrangements as the centerpieces. Everything came out so lovely for the beautiful bride to be!

The invitation. Her wedding colors are fuchsia and orange. It was important for me to link the shower invitations with the rest of the wedding designs without being too similar. (You may recall my save-the-date design for the lovely Lindsey.) I love the mason jar trend that is happening right now, so I ran with it.

LarsLove logo printed on the back.

All the bridesmaids got together a few times to discuss details and we came up with some great party decor ideas. I had seen these adorable pom-pom/flowers on cupcakes as toppers, and I loooved the idea. It was fairly simple. Just three shades of tissue paper (mine were 5×5 squares), stacked and accordion folded. Then I cinched them at the middle with florist wire and then fluffed them all out.

This is how they turned out.

I made 18 (because that was about all I could stand!) But I think they went so well with the other small toppers. Those were flower petal shaped cardstock with the bride&groom’s initials and the wedding date.

The wine bottles! These were what really got my brain in gear for the whole theme. I saw something similar done on Hostess With The Mostess (hwtm.com), and I knew they would be perfect for my wine loving friend! The labels were also a spin off a design over at hwtm.com. They have AMAZING party ideas and fabulous FREE printables for so many party themes. The neck of the bottles were wrapped in Japanese washi tape…one of my favorite mediums ever.

The bottles on site…

I knew my fellow bridesmaids and I would find the introductions at the party a bit easier if we had name tags. And of course we had to include the MOB, MOG and the bride herself! These were just little designs I put together printed on cardstock, then mounted on cream/speckled cardstock, cut using my Martha Stewart Punch Around the Page (eyelet lace) and lastly mounted using hot glue on clasping pins.

They served as the perfect place holders as well for the bridal party.

Also a coordinating sign for the bride’s seat. The large “bride-to-be” sign was a beautiful free printable from hwtm.com mounted on coordinating cardstock.

I made some little advice cards for guests to fill out. The bridesmaids thought these would be sweet little notes for the bride to keep in a scrapbook.

We placed one at each table-setting.

The straw-wrappers…

These were printed on sticker paper, which made assembly SUPER easy. Also, I was beyond shocked when I saw a giant pack of orange and pink straws at the local party store. How perfect? I saved the rest for the bride to use at the bar during the reception!

The mother of the bride’s beautiful silver punch bowl, a family heirloom. What a special touch.

The other bridesmaids found this adorable photo and framed it for the guests to sign. LOVE it. It was placed by the guest book.

Another fabulous cute idea from some of the other girls. What a PERFECT game for a wine themed party!

So here are just a few more shots of the wonderful day…

cupcakes!

The wildflowers that the MOH picked up were so gorgeous.

Another awesome idea…potted plants for each guest. I love these little guys!

Gifts…

The GORGEOUS lady of the hour! Wearing what I must say was the PERFECT dress for the occasion.

Love her…

I had to share this moment. Our mom’s are so similar. My mom did the same thing to me at my shower! Some perfectly tasteful bridal lingerie. A MUST at every shower.

and it created such an absolutely precious mother/daughter moment…

The bridesmaids made a fabulous team, and I think we pulled off a wonderful shower. Lindsey, you picked some good ones! The invitations to the big day have gone out, and it will be here before we know it! It is sure to be a wonderful celebration. Can’t wait!

*The invitations to be posted soon 😉

*I failed to mention that baking has been one of my newest ventures. I made 48 for the shower. Half were red velvet with a cream cheese icing and the others were vanilla with fresh strawberry icing. RECIPES to come SOON!

xoxo

This entry was published on May 25, 2012 at 2:37 pm. It’s filed under Everything and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “What girl doesn’t love wine & flowers?

  1. Pingback: Funky Fuchsia & Orange Wedding Invitations « Larslove's Blog

  2. Pingback: April showers bring May…cupcakes? « Larslove's Blog

Tell me what you think!!

