Larslove's Blog

Proud As A Peacock Party

I have the proud honor of saying that my sister-in-law is the Delaware State Teacher of the Year. Some of you may have read my mention of this in previous posts. She is heading to Texas for the National Competition this week, so TamTam wanted to throw her a little bash. Of course we had to come up with a clever theme…”Proud as a Peacock”…naturally because we are! And who doesn’t love a good peacock themed party? I sure do. So I whipped up some cute little invites and we got to work. We didn’t have much time, because as usual in our family, we went back and forth between dates for a while delaying our planning process. But one thing TamTam is good for is a last minute successful soiree! You know what TamTam is not so good for? She is going to be so mad when she reads this (you might not see her normal proud mom mushy comment on this post). TT is no good at going to the craft store solo. She got a little bit confused. We’ve all been there, you waltz through those magical automatic doors…the smell of wood glue and silk flowers consume you. You panic…what isle do I attack first? Next thing you know, you black out. When you come to, you’re at the register with a cart full of uncertainties! Ah! Because I know this feeling and experience all too well, do I blame TamTam for accidentally changing our theme to Mardi Gras from Peacocks? Of course not. That sweet little mama was lucky enough to make it out of the crafting vortex with her sanity intact….or was she? Bahahaha!

So our little Proud as a Peacock Party turned into a Proud as a Mardi Gras Peacock Party. Mardi Gras Peacocks are way cooler anyway…

The Invitation: I designed this previous to TamTam’s shopping incident-but it still worked. πŸ˜‰ I love the ombre in the text. Then we worked as a team to hand stamp and emboss a silver feather onto each. TamTam is a pro at this, as she was embossing stuff long before I can remember.

That’s our girl, working the “Making a Difference” section of the paper!

I’ve been wanting to make these tissue paper pom-poms for a while. It was pretty easy once you get the hang of it. I definitely suggest using the higher quality tissue paper.

Some of the spread before the guests arrived. If you look closely, you can see the seamless transition from peacock to mardi gras peacock. πŸ˜‰ Feathers were scattered all over the table to simulate a collision between a peacock and a mummers parade.

I kid you not, TamTam had those little peacocks just in a drawer somewhere…we did not buy them for this party. You never know what you are going to find in that house!

I would like to introduce you to our Peacock. We didn’t name him…or give him a face, whoops. That’s how you know you ran out of time…the peacock goes faceless. He was still cute! He was made from scratch. Duct tape, Styrofoam, hot glue and assorted feathers.

This was our little photo booth station. There must have been 15 kiddos at the party, so that was set up with them in mind. Of course, I think they were rather distracted by the Tumble Bus that TamTam rented. Oh yes, there is something called a Tumble Bus.

Oh hey little peacock…

And of course the bar…this was bitter sweet for me because I had to enjoy my mimosa minus my mom-mom (partner in crime). She and Pop-pop are enjoying the warm weather in Florida for the winter. Mom-mom is the BEST bartender.

We had a great day celebrating Amber and her fab accomplishment. The kids raged out on the Tumble Bus, we pigged out on way too much food, Noo took a 4 hour nap afterwards…what an awesome Sunday!

Updates:

Well, LarsLove Designs has gained 4 new clients since I last wrote. Whoop whoop! And not just any old clients, but Super DUPER AWESOME CREATIVE clients! I love this job!

Parties to come- Bianca and Ri-ri’s Mardi Gras Birthday Party (yes, these mistakenly purchased mardi gras materials will be recycled…thank you TamTam!)

Noo’s Valentine’s Day Luncheon (it’s our favorite holiday…yes, we know it is made-up…we don’t care)

Designs To Be Posted- A Surprise Mustache Bash (quite possibly my FAVORITE party theme right now)

Things are busy around the Lars household, but it’s wonderful! We wouldn’t have it any other way.

Until next time, shake your tail feather! πŸ˜‰

This entry was published on January 23, 2012 at 3:11 pm. It’s filed under Designs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Proud As A Peacock Party

  1. Tam Tam on said:

    Hmmmm…well you better get the mardi gras stuff from Bianca and RiRi because I sent the feather boa home along with a few other items. There are still feathers floating around!
    I would like to say that I may have been left on my own for far too long! 😎
    Peacocks are to feathers as feathers are to mardi gras???? I just know there’s an analogy in there somewhere!

    As much as I HATE to admit it…there was a minor collision in themes, but it still was a blast.
    The Tumble Bus was terrifically well received by both children and adults.

    The Ravens’ loss to the Patriots’ was met with mixed reviews and for a moment I thought maybe it was a brunch turned Super Bowl!!!

    I love you Lynsey and I’ll let you know when I’m talking to you again!!! 😎

  2. Great party, Lynsey!! LOVE that invitation!! The colors are all perfect! Oh, and that handmade peacock is just too cute πŸ™‚ Congrats to your sister-in-law on such an exceptional award!!

  3. I have the best sister-in-laws (yes, I had to make it plural, twinie) in the world! Thank you for such a fun party! Love you!

Tell me what you think!!

