Larslove's Blog

Product Review for Eco-friendly Wedding Invitations

As promised, here is my review of the products I used for Dave and Ashlene’s eco-friendly wedding invitations.

Wildflower Seeded Paper (plant-able): www.botanicalpaperworks.com

I was pretty nervous about finding and using this paper. I went into my search looking for paper that was not only a reasonable price, but also user friendly. My main concern was the “printability” of the paper. On Botanical Paper Work’s website, they talk you through the printing process and how to be the most successful in your attempt of a DIY project. They have their own invitation and stationary designs that you can purchase from them, but I found them very supportive of DIY endeavors.

Purchasing and Shipping:

I purchased their 8.5×11 White Plantable Paper. The paper is not cheap for obvious reasons. However, the more you order, the better the price. If you order over 100 sheets, the price per sheet drops significantly. This worked out great for our project because we needed over 100 sheets. Do the math and do what works best for you! The paper arrived within 7 business days. It was so well packaged. I was worried because of it being delivered to our apartment, but it was in excellent condition. When it came time for the first print, I was super nervous! After all, Dave and Ashlene were trusting me with their investment!

The Printing Process:

Each sheet is approximately 8.5×11, but it has rough edges all around. I trimmed one edge of each sheet to make sure it was 8.5in wide or smaller, to keep it from jamming my printer. I learned quickly that I had to hand feed each sheet into my inkjet. This is no fault of the manufacturer. They suggest on the website to use a top loading printer, mine isn’t. So I expected some complications. If I printed a few at a time, the paper would jam quickly. This was no problem because I recruited Lars as my official printer. šŸ˜‰ I was amazed at the print quality. Like I said, I wasn’t expecting perfection simply because I had gone against the manufacturer’s suggestion. They came out crisp and clear. My little ink jet hung in there through all 125 invites, rsvp cards and info card inserts. The paper was easy to trim with my chintzy little AC Moore paper cutter. I actually never even needed to replace the blade.

Verdict:

Great product! Botanical Paper Works has awesome design solutions, as well as the products for you to do it yourself. This is such a unique product, and I am so happy that I got to try it out! Lars and I will be planting the scraps left from the trimming. Dave and Ashlene will have all the RSVP cards to plant. And the guests get to try it out too! If you are a guest of the wedding and planted your paper, I would love to know how it went. Love making your own cards or invitations? Have a soft spot in your heart for the Earth? Give this seeded wildflower paper a try!

Grocery Bag Envelopes: http://www.greenearthgoodies.etsy.com

To go with their seeded paper, Ashlene and Dave knew they wanted an eco-friendly alternative to regular envelopes. Ashlene had discovered upcycled grocery bag envelopes. I found a seller on Etsy, a great source for DIY supplies, and I ordered! We purchased from Green Earth Goodies (supplies). Jennifer is the owner of the shop. She offers all sorts of eco-friendly art supplies, and she also sells her beautiful upcycled art. She is a great artist with a fabulous love for the earth!

Purchasing and Shipping:

Etsy always makes it easy to ship. The joy of using etsy also lies in the ability to negotiate with the seller directly. I told Jennifer how many invitation and rsvp envelopes I needed, and she gave me a awesome price. Everything arrived packaged with care and a lovely note within a week.

Quality and Use:

The envelopes were perfect. They are exactly what they say they are, envelopes made out of grocery bags. We used clear address labels on them, and I think they looked very nice. Ashlene also ordered a custom return address stamp from an Etsy seller, and that looked awesome on the grocery bag texture.

Verdict:

Another great product. To be honest, I don’t foresee myself using another regular envelope when these are available for purchase through Green Earth Goodies.

So there you have it. There must be awesome karma in doing something good for the Earth because these invitations turned out GREAT!

All Together

This entry was published on May 19, 2011 at 2:55 pm. It’s filed under Everything and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Product Review for Eco-friendly Wedding Invitations

  1. Wow, how nice to get a surprise review and it be such a lovely one at that! Thanks so much for reviewing my envelopes; glad they worked out so well for the BEAUTIFUL invites you created. Bravo to you! Thanks so much ā™„

Tell me what you think!!

