Larslove's Blog

Could it be? Am I becoming a real person again?!

After 3 weeks in a very cloudy existence, I feel myself emerging back to real life! No one tells you that having a child will leave you in the most confused and unclear state you have ever felt. I couldn’t remember who called one day or who visited the next. I never got dressed in anything that didn’t resemble pajamas. I spent so much time sitting and nursing that my butt actually went numb for a while. I LOVE my little Nola, and giving birth to her was the most amazing thing that has ever happened to me. On that note, holy sleep deprivation! But now as I sit here typing away, I can honestly say that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Sure, Nola is still rocking my world and I still definitely don’t sleep more than three hours at a time, but together we are getting into a routine. I can actually shower on a regular basis now… whew! I can eat without someone getting my meal for me and setting it up at arms length on a tv tray. Get this… we even had friends over this past weekend! It was wonderful. And I have to say none of this would be possible without my husband, Dan. He is a working grad student, but he still changes diapers at 4am, does all the grocery shopping, yells at me if I pick up the broom, feeds/loves/walks the dogs and most importantly, tells me that I am the amazing one! Lucky me. So here we are, actually becoming a functioning family unit. Now, if only we could get the little princess to sleep in her OWN bed… but that’s for tomorrow’s blog.

This entry was published on September 1, 2010 at 7:34 pm and is filed under Everything, Notes on mommyhood. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me what you think!!

